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Department of Human Resources

311 W. Saratoga St.

Baltimore, MD.  21201-3521
	FIA ACTION TRANSMITTAL

	Control Number:  17-20

	Issuance Date:  June 23, 2017
Effective Date:  July 1, 2017


TO:
DIRECTORS, LOCAL DEPARTMENTS OF SOCIAL SERVICES

DEPUTY/ASSISTANT DIRECTORS FOR FAMILY INVESTMENT

FAMILY INVESTMENT SUPERVISORS AND CASE MANAGERS

FROM:
NICHOLETTE SMITH-BLIGEN, ACTING EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

RE:
INCREASE IN MARYLAND MINIMUM WAGE
PROGRAM AFFECTED:
TEMPORARY CASH ASSISTANCE (TCA), 
                                            FOOD SUPPLEMENT PROGRAM (FSP), TEMPORARY DISABILITY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (TDAP)
ORIGINATING OFFICE:
OFFICE OF PROGRAMS 

SUMMARY
Effective July 1, 2017, Maryland’s minimum wage increases to $9.25 an hour and Montgomery County’s minimum wage increases to $11.50 an hour. On October 1, 2017, Prince George’s County’s minimum wage increases to $11.50. 
ACTION REQUIRED
Local offices should expect additional interim change reports in July since the new minimum wage increases the amount of earned income for working recipients.  Case managers must act timely on the changes to prevent errors in benefit issuances and to ensure that TCA recipients in Work Experience (WEX) or community service positions do not exceed Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) guidelines.

Affected programs include:
· TCA: Recipients must report the change within 10 days of the receipt of the first paycheck with the increase. 

· FSP: Recipients need only report the change if the household’s total income increases to more than 130% of the federal poverty level for the household size.  
However, the case manager must take action on FSP cases when customers report the change or when the customer reports the change for another program. 
· TDAP:  There is no impact to TDAP recipients, as recipients are disabled and not eligible for TDAP if they become employed.
· Child Care Subsidy (CCS):  TCA recipients with CCS cases must report the change within 10 days.  Changes in non-cash assistance cases must be reported to MSDE (Maryland State Department of Education) within 10 days.
TCA Recipients in WEX and WEM Activities:  

Case managers need to periodically review the cases of TCA recipients in WEX and WEM activities to ensure those customers do not exceed the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requirements.  Local departments are in violation of federal law if a recipient’s WEX or WEM hours exceed the FLSA limit.  
The case manager should first review the family’s Independence Plan to ensure it addresses any changes in work requirements because of the increase in the minimum wage.  Remember, federal TANF policy allows us to “deem” FLSA-limited customers as countable in the Work Participation Rate with the 20 hours per week core activity requirement. 

Next, determine the number of FLSA hours the customer can participate in a WEX or WEM activity. Add the amount of TCA and the amount of Food Supplement benefits together. Then, divide the total amount of benefits by the minimum wage.   

(TCA amount + FSP amount)/minimum wage = number of FLSA hours the customer can participate

$300 (TCA amount) + $200 (FSP amount) = $500 of total benefits

$500/$9.25 (minimum wage) =   54 hours per month or 13 hrs per week.  
The TCA customer’s 13 hours are deemed as meeting 20 hours per week. 

FSP Recipients:
For the Food Supplement Program, in particular Able Bodied Adults Without Dependents (ABAWD), the hours in workfare and work experience are also governed by FLSA.  Follow the same calculation as provided above, but use only the FSP amount received to determine the number of hours a customer may participate in an unpaid activity.  ABAWDs can meet the work requirement by working 20 hours per week.  
The local department cannot require an ABAWD to participate in a work program for longer than the 20 hours or more than the FLSA hours.  Customers are deemed to be meeting the ABAWD requirement if they are meeting the FLSA hours per month.
FSP benefit/minimum wage = number of hours ABAWD can participate under FLSA
$194 (FSP amount)/$9.25 (minimum wage) = 20 hrs per month or 4-5 hours per week maximum the customer can participate in an unpaid work activity covered under FSLA. 

Lastly, remember to review the customer’s income at interim change and redetermination in order to ensure the earnings are correct.
FIA FOLLOW-UP
	Impacts/Requires Further Actions
	Completed
	In Progress
	N/A

	Policy manual
	
	
	X

	The HUB
	
	
	X

	Systems 
	X
	
	

	Call Center Desk Guide
	
	
	X

	COMAR
	
	
	X


INQUIRIES 
Please direct inquiries to fia.policy@maryland.gov.
cc:
DHR Executive Staff
FIA Management Staff     DHR HELP DESK
DHMH Executive Staff
FIA Policy and Training   Constituent Services

FIA Workforce Development Staff               
DHMH Training Staff
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